When you create a new document on a computer at Leeds University the best place to save that file is on the network, rather than directly on the computer. Files saved in this way are backed up daily and are accessible wherever you have internet access.
You can save your files to two places on the network and in "The Cloud" using OneDrive.
Network - M: & N: Drives
NOTE: When you delete files from the network they are NOT sent to the recycle bin but are deleted fully.
The M: Drive
This is also known as your home drive, this area is designed for you to keep documents that other people don't usually need to access. The M Drive is your own personal space for saving your documents and is backed up once a day. This means if you accidentally delete or save over a document it can be restored from a previous version. You can also access your files from the M drive on any PC on campus and from any internet connected device using the Universitys Desktop Anywhere service.
The N: Drive
This is also known as your departmental shared area, and is where you can save files that other people in your department may also use.
You can find your M and N drives by going to the Desktop or Start Button and clicking on Computer. Your M drive is labelled with your username and the N drive will be called Shared. It will be necessary to find your departmental folder within the Shared area, so it might be easiest to ask a colleague where to find it.
The Cloud - OneDrive
OneDrive @ University of Leeds is a personal storage area provided for staff at the University. Its a place to store and organise your work documents on the internet and can be accessed from any internet connected device. This includes dedicated OneDrive apps for tablets and smartphones. You can share files with other colleagues, and even students. You can also edit collaboratively and have a very large 1TB of storage. More information about OneDrive can be found here.
Back up using your own computer and storage devices
To protect your files on your own computer, you can create a backup: a set of copies of the files that is stored in a different location from the original files (such as an external hard drive). Windows users can use tools such as the Back Up Files Wizard to back up their files at regular intervals. Mac users can use Time Machine to back up their files. Time Machine keeps hourly backups for the past 24 hours, daily backups for the past month, and weekly backups until your backup drive is full. If you use a Mac please make sure you remember to turn off the sharing settings to prevent other people being able to access your machine.
Don't keep copies of files on a single device (e.g. a USB stick).
If your only copy of your work is on a USB stick or CD and that breaks or gets lost then your files will be lost with it. Save your work to the M: Drive or the Cloud as well as your device so you have a back up. If internet access is a problem even saving to another device kept separately is better than only having it in one place.
If you are opening a file an email attachment, please ensure that you save the file before editing it to prevent your changes being lost.